Unfinished Business by Roxanne Hensley

Happy New Year, everybody! Do any of you have any literary-themed resolutions to tackle in 2020? I’m all about setting achievable goals like eating more chocolate and reading more books that make me happy. My big challenge this year is to read at least half a dozen classics  starting with Little Women. I’m about halfway through and boy is it ever so charming.

Speaking of feel-good books, I would like to introduce you to Roxanne Hensley, a brand new author who is ready to become the next Kristin Hannah–or maybe even Nora Roberts! Hmm…perhaps I should suggest she write a steamy vampire romance trilogy.

But I digress. Without further ado, here’s my review of her debut book Unfinished Business.  If you’re looking for an uplifting read to start off the new year, this is it!

The gist: Adrian, a high-powered career gal, abandons her corporate job and city lifestyle to take care of her ailing mother in the wake of a horrific car crash. Throughout her journey of self-discovery, she makes new friends–including a most handsome eligible bachelor–and reconnects with her cantankerous mother.

What I liked:  Grab you popcorn and a cuddly blanket because this book is the literary equivalent of a Hallmark romance movie, only with much better, more likable actors. If I could choose just one thing to highlight it would be the pacing. Almost every chapter ends with a “WTF!” ending, leaving me with no other option but to keep zipping through the pages until I know that things are going to end up rosy for poor Adrian, who just keeps getting hit with one bombshell after another.

What needs work: There were some moments when Adrian and her mother could’ve had some knock-down-drag-out fights, but they resolved their tiffs a little too quickly. The mother was a real pistol, so I know she had it in her to smash a glass against a wall or–at the very least–smash a magic brownie (yes, those are involved!) in her daughter’s face. Or maybe this is just me speaking from my own personal experiences. Let me tell you, the struggle was real back in the day.

Most favorite character: I appreciate Adrian in many, many ways. Life threw her some curve balls–big time–and she just kept forging onward. Given the circumstances, she could’ve justifiably turned away from her mother, but she chose the high road instead. This, of course, is not necessarily the best route to take for everyone (toxic is toxic!), but the mom had some redeemable qualities and by the end of the book, she actually started to grow on me.

Overall opinion: This is a quality read for anyone who enjoys a good story about self-discovery, forgiveness and second chances. There’s also a sweet romance thrown in the mix! Fans of Kristin Hannah and Susan Mallery are sure to enjoy this one.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s